Current Weather

You are here

What’s Going On

Burn ban

Van Buren County is among 17 in the state that has issued a burn ban. The burn ban was issued on Jan. 17, 2014, and will remain in effect until further notice. The ban states there is to be no burning at this time. Violators will be subject to penalties of up to $500.

The Arkansas Forestry Commission said Tuesday that there is a moderate risk of wildfires statewide due to dry and windy conditions.

Other counties under burn bans include Boone, Cleburne Conway, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Independence, Johnson, Lawrence, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Sharp, Stone and White.

Dinner time

The 6th annual Emergency Responders Dinner is set for 5:30-9 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 1, at the Clinton Senior Center. The dinner was organized by the Independent Order of Odd Fellows in 2009 in appreciation of rescue and recovery efforts after devastating tornadoes tore through the county on Feb. 5, 2008.

This year’s dinner will feature chili, hot dos, hamburgers, drinks and desserts free of charge and everyone is welcome.

In case of severe weather, the dinner will be rescheduled for Feb. 8. For more information about the event contact Millard Wagner at 592-3454, Richard Collins at 592-3385 or Bill Collins at 745-3564. This year’s dinner is sponsored by the Shirley FFA Chapter and co-sponsored by the Odd Fellows and the county Senior Citizens Centers.


So far in 2014, there have been three small earthquakes in Fairfield Bay. The first was at 1:08 a.m. Jan. 13, 2014. It was a 1.8 magnitude, according to the Arkansas Geological Survey. The second, at 11:37 a.m. Jan.13, recorded a 1.5 magnitude; and the third, which occurred on Jan. 14 at 8:28 a.m. measured 2.1. In 2011 a swarm of earthquakes in Faulkner County was linked to natural gas injection wells.

The Van Buren County Democrat website is available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access the website at no additional charge.