A new law requiring Arkansas motorists to “move over” for more than emergency vehicles became effective Aug. 16. The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management has vehicles equipped with green lights that are a part of this legislation. In addition, local emergency managers and selected other emergency vehicles have green lights as well.
The law, Act 579, that was signed by Gov. Mike Beebe, during the 89th General Assembly, requires drivers to move over, not only for police cars, fire trucks and ambulances, but adds utility vehicles, tow trucks or authorized vehicles displaying blue, red, amber, white or green lights that are flashing, revolving, or rotating.
When motorists see any of the described vehicles, they must move to the farthest possible lane or position from the authorized vehicles. If a driver cannot move over, he or she must reduce speed and exercise caution. If a driver is found guilty of violating the law, they can be fined up to $500, confined to jail or both. The court may also order community service or suspend a person’s driver’s license up to six months.
Mark A. Vaughn, driver license examiner from the Arkansas State Police, Troop J, announces that on Friday, Aug. 30, the Driver License testing site will move to the Van Buren County Senior Adult Center, 311 Yellowjacket lane in Clinton. The new site is next to the football field by the Clinton High School. The times for testing are the same and the dates are the same as before.—
Advertising and editorial deadlines will be moved up by 24 hours next week because the Labor Day holiday. All classified and display advertising must be in by 4 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 29. All community news must be turned in by noon Friday, Aug. 30. The Democrat office will be closed on Monday, Sept. 2.