At press time, a burn ban for all of Van Buren County was in effect. The ban was issued July 12, 2013, and there are no exceptions, according to the court order. Violators are subject to penalties of up to $500. For the latest information on a burn ban, call 745-2333 for a pre-recorded message.
Arkansas will hold its annual sales tax holiday beginning at 12:01 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 3, 2013, and ending at 11:59 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 4, 2013. No state or local sales tax will be collected during that 48-hour period on the sale of clothing and footwear less than $100 per item, clothing accessories and equipment less than $50 per item; school supplies; school art supplies; and school instructional materials.
What: Boating Education Class
When: 9 a.m-4 p.m. Saturday, July 27
Where: Clinton Fire Department, Highway 65B
Why: Anyone born after Dec. 31, 1985, is required to have a Boating Education Certificate to operate a boat in Arkansas.
This class is free. For more information contact Jay Hagans at (501) 592-3984 or Mike Curtis at (501) 253-1406.
Each year, the Arkansas Department of Human Services Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support partners with the Governor’s Office and the Arkansas Municipal League to sponsor the Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year Awards. Nominations for the 2013 Community of the Year will be accepted through Sept. 30, 2013. Twelve communities throughout the state will receive recognition for their volunteer efforts. A committee of citizens who represent a cross section of the state population will select winning communities. The awards will be presented at the Arkansas Municipal League Winter Conference. For a nomination form or more information, visit the DCSNS website: http://www.humanservices.arkansas.gov/dcsns.