Current Weather

You are here

Shirley sets start date, names staff

The 2013-2014 school year for Shirley School will begin Monday, Aug. 19, 2013.

School starts at 8 a.m. for high school and 7:40 a.m. for elementary. Dismissal will be at 3:10 p.m. for high school and 3:05 p.m. for elementary. High School students will meet in the auditorium and elementary students will meet in their classrooms.

Orientation and open house for grades K-12 will be from 4-6 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 13. Students may pick up their schedules and meet new teachers. New students may register at the elementary or high school office Monday-Thursday between 9 a.m. and 2 p.m.

School administration

Betty McGruder — superintendent

Tyrene Gardner — federal coordinator/curriculum supervisor

Randy Moore — high school principal

Randy Roberson — elementary principal

Nancy Hensley — bookkeeper

Rachel Seaton — high school secretary

Jenni Lewis — elementary secretary

Denise Robinson- superintendent’s secretary

Sue Allen — accounts payable secretary

Board of Education

Russ Ekhhoff

Rose Owen

Colleen Halldorson

Darla Privitt

Brenda Smith

District staff

Rebekah Roberson, Amanda Gentry — district counselors

Tim Widener — computer tech coordinator/district learning

Michelle Burgess — school nurse

Kayla Whited — ISS supervisor

Larry Fairfield — maintenance supervisor

Jeff Rice — maintenance

Clayton Borecky — resource officer

Pam Moore — APSCN, secretary

Mike Worthing — transportation director

Bus drivers

Stephen Matthews, Deb Thomas, Rick Ward, Steve Williams, Larry Fairfield, Randall Blanchard, Chris Bradford, Tim White and Jeff Rice


Amy Davidson — director

Kathy Garrigus — head cook

Cooks — Kay Delk, Patricia Mapes, Belinda Murray, Deb Thomas

High school faculty

Peggy Cottey — English

Brandon Harris — Band/Music/Vocal

Steve Privitt — Mathematics

Kerri Tindall — Social Studies, English

Layna Jones — Art

Rick Ward — Mathematics

Steve Privitt — Mathematics

Brian Crotts — Vocational Business

Randall Blanchard — Science

Keith Brown — Boys Coach/PE-Health

Jason Cowell — Girls Coach/PE-Health

Brooke Loter — Family & Consumer Science

Stephen Matthews — Vocational Agriculture

Rachelle Stewart — SALC/Media Specialist

Ruth Taylor — Resource

Ricky Ridgway — Resource

Steve Williams — Spanish, interventions

Randal Blanchard — Science

Donna Guinn — Science

Andrea Cowell — Seventh and Eighth Grade

Summer Clauer — English, Yearbook

Jeff Mannon — Social Studies

Aides — Nancy Smith, Angie Williams, Linda Azar, Chris Bradford

Custodians — Paula Bramlett, Ted Allen

Elementary staff

Kindergarten — Delonda Powell, Lisa Jones

First Grade — Melinda Bane, Penny Little

Second Grade — Marilyn Seaton, Alicia Holt

Third Grade — Cynthia Ferrell, Lisa Freeman

Fourth Grade — Elaine Enns, Lori Prater

Fifth Grade — Melissa Dunham, Alysa Strang

Sixth Grade — Brittany Kyle, Tina Stevens

Art — Layna Jones

Literacy Specialist — Amanda Gentry

Media Specialist/G.T. — Shannon Taylor

Music — Brandon Harris

P.E. — Jason Cowell

Resource teachers — Cheryl Hayes, Margret Hart

Speech Therapist — Sheila Gardner

Aides — Susan Howard, Donna McCabe, Kim Graddy, Trish Blair, Cassie Latta

Custodians — Erin Ekhoff, Pat Newman

The Van Buren County Democrat website is available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access the website at no additional charge.